2022 National Substance Use Disorder Summit. Innovating Partnerships with Families in Recovery. January 26, 2022. 11 a.m. to 5:50 p.m. Eastern Time. 8 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Pacific Time

Register today

Please join the Brazelton Touchpoints Center (BTC) for its first National Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Summit: Innovating Partnerships with Families in Recovery on Wednesday, January 26, 2022. The all-day virtual Summit will center whole families and communities in recovery. We will begin with a rarely seen documentary short featuring the voices of mothers living with SUD, and introductory remarks by its director, Dara Fruchter, followed by three nationwide conversations on:

  • Peer-to-Peer Supports: Recovery coaches with lived experience of SUD, and their parent and professional partners will describe how and why peer-to-peer approaches work, and why they are critical to equitable and inclusive recovery interventions that center family voice, shift power, and build on families’ strengths, resources, and wisdom.
  • Comprehensive Systems Approaches: Leaders innovating organizational, community, county, and state-based system changes will share what they are learning about how to strengthen whole communities by assembling, connecting, and coordinating the broad array of sustainable supports, services, and resources for parents in recovery whose disease so often disrupts even basic survival needs.
  • Transdisciplinary Collaboration: Frontline providers and parents will distill the key ingredients of effective approaches for building therapeutic relationships based on safety, trust, and hope that promote parents’ motivation for recovery, children’s well-being, and healing, and resilient responses to the relapses and recurrences that characterize this chronic disease’s course.
Select the Agenda tab above to view the full agenda and list of moderators and panelists.

All sessions will have live Spanish translation and closed captioning available.

Registration Fees:

  • Early Bird Fee (through December 31, 2021): $75
  • Regular Fee: $85

BTC Learning Network members get the Early Bird Rate! (Click here to learn about joining the BTC Learning Network.)

Thank You to Our Sponsor

Additional Information:

Want to register a group of 10 or more? Contact us!

Can’t attend the Summit? Please consider making a donation. This event is only possible through the generosity of people like you.

Cancellation Policy: We recognize that the uncertainties of life can sometimes derail our plans. If you feel you need to cancel your registration, we will accept cancellations up to 14 days before the Summit (on or before January 12, 2022). You will be offered a full refund, minus a 10% processing fee.

Questions? Contact us today!


Register today

Agenda

11:00 - 11:15 AM ET /
8:00 - 8:15 AM PT
Introduction and Welcome

  • Joshua Sparrow, MD, Executive Director, Brazelton Touchpoints Center
11:15 - 11:30 AM ET /
8:15 - 8:30 AM PT
Documentary Short: Voices of Mothers Living with Substance Use Disorder

  • Dara Fruchter, MA, Project Manager, Infant and Maternal Substance Use Prevention Coordination, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Maine Department of Health and Human Services
11:30 AM - 1:00 PM ET /
8:30 - 10:00 AM PT
Panel 1: Peer-to-Peer Lived Experiences

Moderator:

  • Eurnestine Brown, PhD, Director of Equity and Belonging, Brazelton Touchpoints Center

Panelists:

  • Community Health Acceleration Partnership (CHAP), New Jersey
    • Raquel Mazon Jeffers, Senior Director, U.S. Initiatives
  • Dependency Advocacy Center, San Jose, California
    • David Shuster, Mentor Parent Program Manager
    • Melissa Elias, Mentor Parent
  • First Steps Together, Massachusetts Department of Public Health
    • Debra Bercuvitz, MDPH
1:00 - 1:30 PM ET /
10:00 - 10:30 AM PT
Break
1:30 - 3:00 PM ET /
10:30 AM - 12:00 PM PT
Panel 2: Comprehensive Systems Approaches

Moderator:

  • Joshua Sparrow, MD, Executive Director, Brazelton Touchpoints Center

Panelists:

  • Evergreen Recovery Centers, Seattle, Washington
    • Shermoin Clardy, Director of Residential and Family Recovery
    • Jessica Wootsick, Lead Infant Mental Health Specialist
  • Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
    • Ekaterina Zoubak, MA, Social Science Analyst
  • Juvenile Court Division for Santa Clara County, California
    • Katherine Lucero, Esq., Presiding Judge
  • Maine Department of Health and Human Services
    • Dara Fruchter, MA, Project Manager, Infant and Maternal Substance Use Prevention Coordination, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention
    • Jamie Michaud, Part C Coordinator, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Perigee Fund, Seattle, Washington
    • Mariel Mendez, MPH, Associate Program Officer
3:00 - 3:30 PM ET /
12:00 - 12:30 PM PT
Break
3:30 - 5:00 PM ET /
12:30 - 2:00 PM PT
Panel 3: Transdisciplinary Collaboration (Shared Vision, Shared Language)

Moderator:

  • Jayne Singer, PhD, Director of Developmental and Relational Health, Brazelton Touchpoints Center

Panelists:

  • The Center for Great Expectations, Somerset, New Jersey
    • Carolyn Flynn, MA, LAC, CD, Director of START
    • Erica Pulliam, Site Manager START
  • Department of Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry, West Virginia University and Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute
    • Amanda Newhouse, LICSW, PCIT Level- I Trainer, IMH-E®, Project IMPACT, Assistant Professor
  • Lahey Beverly Hospital’s Compass Moms Do Care program, Beverly, Massachusetts
    • Melissa Sherman MD, FASAM, Medical Director
    • Ariel Wallen, LICSW, Team Lead,
  • Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center, New Orleans, Louisiana
    • Joy D. Osofsky, PhD, Clinical and Developmental Psychologist, Paul J. Ramsay Chair of Psychiatry and Barbara Lemann Professor of Child Welfare
    • Marian (”Mel”) Selby, Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry
5:00 - 5:30 PM ET /
2:00 - 2:30 PM PT
Closing

  • Eurnestine Brown, PhD, and Joshua Sparrow, MD, Brazelton Touchpoints Center