Loading Events

LGBTQ2IA+ Families Then and Now 2023

May 22, 2023 @ 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm EDT

LGBTQ2IA+ Families Then and Now 2023 marketing graphic

We are excited to relaunch our LGBTQ2IA+ Families Then and Now series in 2023! Through conversations with a diverse range of parents who identify as LGBTQ2IA+ as well as young adults who were raised by LGBTQ2IA+ parents, this free conversation series explores the changing landscape of LGBTQ2IA+ parenting during the last several decades.

Together, we will discuss the experiences of families living in a diverse range of social contexts. By listening to the stories of each family, we hoped to broaden and deepen our vision of family to be far more inclusive and to embrace the diversity of who families truly are in America today

The five-part series begins on Monday, May 8, 2023, and continues through June 26, 2023. Each webinar is 1 hour followed by a 30-minute Q&A session with our parent panelists. All webinars have live Spanish language translation and closed captioning available.

Here are some of the topics these conversations will explore:

  • Impact of policy and law on families’ lives, children’s literature, and educational settings
  • LQBTQ2IA+ family formation and gendered notions of parenting
  • Generational and evolving perspectives on gender, sexuality, and identity
  • Two-spirit experiences and perspectives
  • Ethnic and racial diversity in LGBTQ2IA+ families
  • Representation of diverse family forms in literature and other media

This series is part of the Brazelton Touchpoints Center’s Family-to-Family Real Talk conversation series.

Register

 

Laura Benkov headshotThis series is moderated by Laura Benkov, Ph.D., a clinical psychologist and neuropsychologist who has worked with children, adults, couples, and families for decades in a variety of community mental health, private practice, school, and hospital settings, providing supervision/training, psychotherapy, and psychological/neuropsychological evaluations.

She is the author of one of the first books (and several subsequent articles) on the subject of lesbian and gay parenthood, Reinventing the Family: The Emerging Story of Lesbian and Gay Parents (Crown, 1994). She has been on staff at Boston Children’s Hospital and is formerly the Clinic Director at Think: Kids at Massachusetts General Hospital. During the late 1980s and early 1990s, she worked at Fenway Community Health Center in Boston, focusing on HIV/AIDS and LGBTQ family formation.

 

Episode 1: Monday, May 8, 2023, 4:30 – 6 PM ET / 1:30 – 3 PM PT
Episode 2: Monday, May 22, 2023, 3 – 4:30 PM ET/ 12 – 1:30 PM PST
Episode 3: Monday, June 5, 2023, 3 – 4:30 PM ET/ 12 – 1:30 PM PST
Episode 4: Monday, June 12, 2023, 12:30 – 2:00 PM ET / 9:30 – 11:00 AM PT
Episode 5: Monday, June 26, 2023, 12:30 – 2:00 PM ET / 9:30 – 11:00 AM PT

 

Register

At a Glance

May 22, 2023 @ 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm EDT

Cost: $FREE